12 GOP members voted to not honor Capitol police for safeguarding Congress throughout Jan 6 overthrow try | Boing Boing

"A bullet to the head": Republican Marjorie Taylor Greene approved of posts calling for Pelosi, Obama, Hillary Clinton and FBI agents to be executed | Boing Boing

A invoice to award Congressional Gold Medals to all Capitol law enforcement officials WHO protected Congress from right-wing terrorists who stormed the Capitol on January 6 handed 413-12.

The twelve who voted towards awarding the officers with Congress’s “highest expression of nationwide appreciation” included members of the GOP and Qanon paties: Marjorie Taylor Greene (GA), Matt Gaetz (FL) Thomas Massie (KY), Louie Gohmert (TX), Andy Biggs (AZ), Andy Harris (MD), Lance Gooden (TX), Michael Cloud (TX), Andrew Clyde (GA), Greg Steube (FL), Bob Good (VA), and John Rose (TN).

From The Guardian:

The resolution said: “On January 6, 2021, a mob of insurrectionists pressured its means into the US Capitol constructing and congressional workplace buildings and engaged in acts of vandalism, looting, and violently attacked Capitol law enforcement officials.”

It additionally named the three officers who responded to the assault and died shortly after – Capitol law enforcement officials Brian Sicknick and Howard Liebengood and Metropolitan police division officer Jeffrey Smith – and stated seven different individuals died and greater than 140 legislation enforcement officers have been injured.

“The desecration of the US Capitol, which is the temple of our American democracy, and the violence focusing on Congress are horrors that may eternally stain our nation’s historical past,” the invoice stated.

Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *